Skip to content

Presenting the authors: 1. Angela Fava

March 2, 2011

Hi everybody, my name is Angela Fava and, since I bet nobody of you knows me, let me briefly introduce myself. I’m a young (well, at least I used to be young) physicist working as a I.N.F.N. post-doc at the Padova Univeristy in the ICARUS experiment, a Liquid Argon Time Projection Chamber (LAr-TPC) installed underground at LNGS (Laboratorio Nazionale del Gran Sasso) to study mainly long-baseline neutrino oscillations. In my short “career” I’ve been always working on neutrino physics, but I’m also fascinated by cosmology and dark matter searches, that do interest me really much.

Well, in these days I happen to be in La Thuile (see picture below), a paradise for skiers on the Piccolo San Bernardo mountain, not just to have some fun but even to participate to the “XXV Rencontres de Physique de la Vallee d’Aoste” on “Results and Perspectives in Particle Physics”.

Luckly today’s snowy weather helped me concentrating on the Conference and thus enjoying some really interesting talks.

Of course I’m biased in appreciating C. Galbiati’s talk, which nevertheless I found to be a convincing
summary of “Direct Search for Dark Matter” experiments, with clever references to recent physics
results. And let me be a little bit campanilistic in pointing out, among the breaking news reported by Cristiano, that E. Aprile is problably releasing Xenon 100 data at the “XIV International Workshop on Neutrino Telescopes” that will be held in Venice in March 15-18 2011, at least relying on what appeared on Nature News online a few days ago (http://www.nature.com/news/2011/110225/full/news.2011.125.html). This is another incentive, if any was needed, to look forward to the Venice Conference that is coming back after one year of stop!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2011 8:24 pm

    Wow, cool place you hang out in!! Nice to ‘meet’ you, and I’m really looking forward to future posts.

Trackbacks

  1. An Icarus Event « neutel11

Leave a Reply

